Intellectual Celeb Of The Month: Jim Morrison’s Rocking My Soul

Jim Morrison is Sexy, Smart and So Dead.

-Yeah, that’s right‑that’s right, baby, L. I am a Sagittarius. The most philosophical of all the signs. But anyway, I don’t believe in it. I think it’s a bunch of bullshit, myself. But I tell you this, man, I tell you this I don’t know what’s gonna happen, man, but I wanna have my kicks before the whole shithouse goes up in flames
Alright! 

The Doors evoke a strange emotional response in me. Their music makes me wanna dance around, cry and laugh all at once like a maniac. Every-time I get in the mood for some Doors, I realize I was born 40 something years too late and who can forget the awesomeness of Jim Morrison. I imagine my bedroom walls would have been plastered with his face and my ear drums would have played to his voice day in and day out. Apart from being an an absolute looker with the voice of an angel (gaah!), Morrison was an incredible poet.

As a lover of everything eccentric,whimsical, vivid and profound, I’m enjoying reading his work and listening to the posthumous audio collage put together with The Doors music clips and Jim’s spoken word poetry- An American Prayer. You can listen to it below.

…Words dissemble
Words be quick
Words resemble walking sticks.
Plant them they will grow
Watch them waver so.I’ll always be a word man
Better than a bird man… (Curses, Invocations)

…Like some new language
Reaching your head with the cold, sudden fury of a divine messenger
Let me tell you about heartache and the loss of god
Wandering, wandering in hopless night
Out here in the perimeter there are no stars
Out here we is stoned
Immaculate… (Stoned Immaculate)

Over at Margrit Keresztes or Beat Patrol you can read Jim’s poems.

“Blake said that the body was the soul’s prison unless the five senses are fully developed and open. He considered the senses the ‘windows of the soul.’ When sex involves all the senses intensely, it can be like a mystical experience.”

“Expose yourself to your deepest fear; after that, fear has no power, and the fear of freedom shrinks and vanishes. You are free.”

“Friends can help each other. A true friend is someone who lets you have total freedom to be yourself-and especially to feel. Or, not feel. Whatever you happen to be feeling at the moment is fine with them. That’s what real love amounts to-letting a person be what he really is.”

“I am interested in anything about revolt, disorder, chaos-especially activity that seems to have no meaning. It seems to me to be the road toward freedom… Rather than starting inside, I start outside and reach the mental through the physical.”

“I like any reaction I can get with my music. Just anything to get people to think. I mean if you can get a whole room full of drunk, stoned people to actually wake up and think, you’re doing something.”

“Listen, real poetry doesn’t say anything; it just ticks off the possibilities. Opens all doors. You can walk through anyone that suits you.”

“People fear death even more than pain. It’s strange that they fear death. Life hurts a lot more than death. At the point of death, the pain is over. Yeah, I guess it is a friend. “

“Where’s your will to be weird? “

You can also read the rest of these beautiful quotes at StonedImmaculately.

Came across this lovely, in-depth paper written by William Cook in 2003. The writer says,

His poetic strength is that he creates poetry quite profound in its effect upon the reader, by using vividly evocative words and images in his poems…

Morrison’s poetry is very surreal at times, as well as highly symbolic–there is a pervading sense of the irrational, chaotic, and the violent; an effect produced by startling juxtapositions of images and words. Morrison’s poetry reveals a strange world–a place peopled by characters straight out of Morrison’s circus of the mind, from the strange streets of Los Angeles boulevards and back alleys…

Definitely worth a read.

I see myself as a huge fiery comet, a shooting star. Everyone stops, points up and gasps “Oh look at that!” Then – whoosh, and I’m gone… and they’ll never see anything like it ever again, and they won’t be able to forget me – ever.”

Leave a Reply

