Devil’s Food Cake Therapy For The Soul #burningupfriday

Cake cures depression! Really…give it a try 🙂

Now I don’t support binge eating when you are feeling low, I for one take it out on food instead and will only just nibble on my dinner or lunch for a few days until my head is straight but the moment I see cake, it all changes. Cake is my 4:20 blunt (I’ve run out of metaphors) all rolled up with delicate deliciousness and creamy chocolatey lusciousness on the inside. Yes. Cake in my world can only be a chocolate cake or Red Velvet cake on occasions but chocolate wins hands down. If I were a thief, my speciality would be stealing expensive chocolate cakes and kidnapping chefs like Eric Lanlard and Nigella Lawson.

This Friday I want to share with you guys, Nigella Lawson’s recipe for Devil’s Food Cake. She is quite the food goddess in my opinion. Trust me when I say it, this cake is quite the therapy for your soul.

If you follow these instructions carefully, you will end up with a visually lusty, super devilish, incredibly moist, dark-dark cake. It pretty much melts in your mouth. According to my personal theory, if a cake melts in your mouth you aren’t putting your teeth in danger of getting rotten! On a more sensible note, always try to squeeze a brush session in after eating chocolate cake. But good mouth hygiene isn’t the topic of this blog post, this recipe is…

Nigella’s Devil’s Food Cake

Her site offers your the flexibility to switch over from UK to US metrics. Another cool thing about the recipe is the use of hot water to melt cocoa powder and sugar. I think that gives it the dark shade. You can slobber the cake with more chocolate icing if you feel ok with the calories.

Bake with someone you love, it will be extra therapeutic. I do it with my mum 🙂
Leave a Reply

