Riveting Art- Until The Quiet Comes

Flying Lotus is an experimental multi-genre music producer. I was only exposed to his brilliant music a couple hours ago through this amazing piece of art Until The Quiet Comes. Directed by Kahlil Joseph, deciphering the messages in this video is a good mind exercise. I had to watch it a couple times to come up with my own interpretation because the first time around, I was simply mesmerized with FlyLo’s music and the dancer Storyboard P’s extraordinary moves.

Until The Quiet Comes is filled with symbolisms. My interpretation is that, the first scene shows the degraded messed up state of our society. This young kid’s actions and gesture of shooting bullets portrays the loss of innocence. Then comes the entrance of this adult wearing a “J Dilla changed my life shirt” and he’s seen handing out something to the kids. The hidden symbolism I believe is that J Dilla’s music inspired kids. The same guy starts dancing like fluid in the next scene, only after he’s been shot dead. I think that is his soul letting out the expression of creativity. Probably something he ignored when he got himself stuck in bad things. You also see a woman closing this kid’s eyes, all these people appear frozen in time as they are witnessing a shooting. They are probably his family and neighbors. Then he gets inside a car, we see FlyLo sitting in the passenger seat. I think he’s taking his soul away to be cleansed in the water because you see the body forming a cross in the end. Riveting!

Here are more videos of Storyboard P dancing like he has no bones and is simply not affected by gravity. I think he’s made of flubber. (Massive Respect!) He says:

My style is Mutant. As a mutant my power is to project a sequence of images through my body that tells an elaborate story to music. The power to storyboard / ballet / jazz / African / contemporary / bruk up / flex / boogaloo. (Continue to Breakin Convention to read more)

Leave a Reply

