Johnny Depp Therapy For The Soul #burningupfriday

Embrace the quirky-2

Johnny Depp is a genius! He is inspiration in its rawest, most eccentric form for anyone who wants to make their creative work stand out from the crowd. As I mentioned earlier, the universe has been bombing me with Depp and Benicio del Toro’s work for the past month. Over the past couple weeks, I have watched Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas and the Pirates series over a hundred times because somehow the TV channels seem obsessed with Depp’s work. I have been a Depp fan forever but re-watching his movies over and over, gave me an opportunity to truly appreciate the characters he delivers. Even as an animated Rango, he manages to embrace the quirky by making the unpopular/unlikeable creature- The Lizard, look pretty adorable!

Arizona Dream is a movie Johnny did in 1993, which to date is one of my most favorite flicks to watch. This movie and especially Johnny’s character Axel, introduced me to ‘off-the-wall‘ art for the first time and in an instant I found myself gravitating towards the quirky. Arizona Dream has some lovely dialogues, a crazy story line and an even crazier actor pretending to be a hen!

What I learnt from watching Depp’s work until now is that one should learn to be comfortable in their own skin and accept that, what makes us an individual.

The characters he has created over the years are usually dark and despite that darkness, they manage to make you laugh or the least put a grin on your face. Recently, I watched The Rum Diary and it seems as though no other actor could has played Hunter S. Thompson’s drug addict with a high morale journalist, Paul Kemp as beautifully as Depp!

As a person, the strangest thing about Johnny Depp is that he rarely ever watches his own movies! I never knew this until now. In this interview below, he says something similar to what I read in Benicio del Toro’s interview when I mentioned him in my previous Friday Therapy post. Clearly he’s an artist who is more interested in the experience and process of creating art than the actual product, probably something that keeps him focused on his acting. As a writer when I’m done writing something and proof read it, I rarely go back to re-read it. May be because I am my own self-critic and find myself over-analyzing. Soaking in that experience while I create something, whether its my words or even baking a cake, that feeling is so sincere and brings more intrinsic pleasure than anything external that follows, after the product has been created.

I consider Depp’s work therapeutic for the soul because he takes your mind away from all self-doubt and helps you find comfort in your weirdness! After all, weird is cool!

Here are some interesting quotes spoken by the man.

“I think everybody’s weird. We should all celebrate our individuality and not be embarrassed or ashamed of it.”

“Just keep moving forward and don’t give a shit about what anybody thinks. Do what you have to do, for you.”

“I am doing things that are true to me. The only thing I have a problem with is being labeled.”

“If there’s any message, it is ultimately that it’s okay to be different; that it’s good to be different, that we should question ourselves before we pass judgment on someone who looks different, behaves different, talks different, is a different color.”

“With any part you play, there is a certain amount of yourself in it. There has to be, otherwise it’s just not acting. It’s lying. ”

“When I see someone who just follows their dream and succeeds, and just does basically what they want to do and doesn’t have to answer to anyone, obviously not harming anyone, that’s great.”

“Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

“There are four questions of value in life… What is sacred? Of what is the spirit made? What is worth living “for, and what is worth dying for? The answer to each is same. Only love.”– Technically said by Don Juan deMarco

Found a rare video on Youtube featuring Hunter S. Thompson, Depp and del Toro. Now I wish someone would write an awesome script and get these two favorites of mine together on screen, again!

Finally, Depp rocking his guitar at a recent Aerosmith show!

Leave a Reply

