Fake It Till You Become It: Amy Cuddy

Amy Cuddy is a professor and researcher at Harvard Business School who wasn’t even expected to graduate with her bachelors after suffering a traumatic head injury. Hers is a truly inspirational story and in this TED video, she introduces us to the concept of Power Posing.

We constantly judge other people based on their body language but little do we know that our own body language affects not just the perception that other people form of us, but also our own brain chemistry. A positive, powerful body language can convince your brain that you can make it! When she described the low power poses in this talk, I could totally relate. I often find myself hunching over in the seat in conversations or job interviews because I find myself doubting my own mental capacity. Although I might make up for the low power poses with a lot of smiling, a low power pose is still a low power pose that can mess with your brain.

I love her concept of ‘fake it till you make it’.

If you enjoyed the video and found it inspiring, here’s a brilliant article by Amy- Just Because I’m Nice, Don’t Assume I’m Dumb

2 thoughts on “Fake It Till You Become It: Amy Cuddy

Leave a Reply

