Body Combat Therapy For The Soul #burningupfriday

Sometimes I find myself seriously confused with the various workouts out there. Being someone who gets bored easily, I prefer trying out different workout methods. The gym isn’t my favorite place on earth because the only thing I really enjoy doing there is running. I like to get my mind involved and sadly the machines don’t help me do that, which is why I prefer home videos.

I’ve been through Insanity (really love plyometrics but my injured spine doesn’t agree), Zumba (party fun!), Body Attack (which I love), Belly Dancing, Pussy Cat Dolls workout, Carmen Electra’s Aerobic Striptease, Billy Blanks Taebo (all time favorite), Julianne Hough’s Cardio Ballroom and Deanne Berry’s Pump It Up! Now, recently I discovered yet another workout-Body Combat.

As a lover of angry rawr type workouts, I find Body Combat empowering and a really sick workout to bring some peace to your soul. I have incredible energy within me that needs a serious outlet or I turn all that inwards into angry negative thoughts. Body Combat tests your endurance and stamina, there by assisting people like me to practice self-control over negative energy.

Being a fierce combination of karate, kung-fu, taekwondo, muay thai and tai-chi, Body Combat does more than help you lose weight. It teaches you basic self defense (Yes throw a couple quick jabs and kicks to slow the opponent and then RUN!) and while doing that it really works to release all the stress from within. Intensity is the keyword here.

According to Les Mills website, Body Combat is great for your lungs and heart.

  • Improves heart and lung function and reduces the risk of heart disease
  • Tones and shapes key muscle groups
  • Burns calories for a leaner body
  • Improves co-ordination and agility
  • Improves bone density
  • Improves posture and core strength and stability
  • Builds self-confidence

I found a couple tutorial videos over at Youtube, conducted by Les Mills Body Combat program directors.

If you go through Youtube’s longer video search, you’ll find plenty more videos done by other fitness experts. Always make sure you drink LOTS of water and take it easy. Don’t go doing something that you are uncomfortable with and will DEFINITELY pop something. Since you’ll be working under no supervision, it is important to do only what your body can handle. Personally, I don’t do push-ups and arm weights because I have a bad neck/upper back.

Work out responsibly and make your mind happier 😀

 

2 thoughts on “Body Combat Therapy For The Soul #burningupfriday

Leave a Reply

