Hey Reader- Bake These Brownies Now!

This week, my lovely artsy smartsy photographer neighbour Meg Johnson visited my kitchen and offered to take shots while I baked. I must admit, it was difficult to not fall on the floor laughing as I was measuring 325 g caster sugar on my old school weighing scale, but to my surprise- it all turned out quite delicious (photos and brownies). Meg is a hilarious, open minded, intelligent and ambitious human and I am so glad to have met her in a world filled with sheep baaaa-ing one behind the other. This world definitely needs more enthusiastic, creative souls.

Back to the brownies…

Brownies are one of my favourites to make because there is absolutely no way of ruining them. You might over bake or under bake them, but there’s always something you can do even with messed up brownies. Just pour some ice-cream/hot chocolate sauce on it or simply blend it with milk (alternatives) to make a thick shake. Brownies are the Rocky Balboa of baked choc goods.

I have tried many different recipes and I love them all (especially my bestie Sivan’s recipe for cocoa overloaded brownies that I can’t share) but these are the next best alternative- Hummingbird Bakery’s Brownies. I can spin these up in my sleep, which pretty much displays the epic level of my brownie baking calibre 🙂 Everyone who has tried these loves them and I’m often reminded in emails/texts that I should bake them again!

The Recipe 

Makes:  12

Preparation Time:  15 minutes
Cooking Time: 30 minutes

You will need33 x 23 x 5-cm baking tray, lined with greaseproof paper
200g dark chocolate, roughly chopped
175g unsalted butter
325g caster sugar
130g plain flour
3 eggs
icing sugar, to decorate

For further details on how to bake these brownies, head over to RedOnline.com

choc1

choc3

choc4

choc5

choc6 choc7

choc8

choc9

I like to throw in cherries, milk choc chips and white choc chips to the mix. You can add whatever you like although I’m guessing its best to not use the more fun stuff with this mix. It is impossible to eat just one piece because they are so moist/soft/perfect and adding said stuff might therefore cause time-lapse/inter dimensional travel (my guess). Proceed at your own risk.

Check out Meg’s website for more samples of her photography. If you are in Plymouth area and want to pose with your brownies or cauliflower, contact her on Twitter or Facebook. Meg’s 365 photos exhibition is on until 1st November at the Kaya Gallery in Plymouth.

Leave a Reply

