Measurements Are For Pussies: Crunchy, Fruity, Spicy…almost Kimchi

Some weeks I get possessed by the remnants of the hungry fat kid I used to be and end up going on a cooking spree wearing my crazy scientist hat. Its just been one of those weeks.

I am a strong believer that there is no point in using exact measurements unless you are baking. Real cooking has to be done by the fist! When I touch food, smell it and taste the ingredients, I feel as though I awaken some higher hungry force that guides the way. My kitchen is the place where I get to be a kid in the Chemistry lab, amused by different ingredients and occasionally ending up with crazy stuff on my plate.

I am still a work in progress but as long as my taste buds are happy with the result, I will continue thinking that I am a borderline cool cook 😀

20141028_192027

In honour of my BFF Miss Kimchi and the yummazing pickled cabbage, I’ve named this one the Almost Kimchi.

It is a super simple recipe that I made pretty much out of a box, jar and tub. The only problem is that it takes a while to make as the Rosti and Chicken both require more time to cook. The construction requires three items, Swiss Rosti base, Pickled Red Cabbage and Indian style roast Chicken.

1. Swiss Rosti: Comes out of a pack sold by Waitrose. This brings the crunch factor.

2. Picked Red Cabbage: Comes out of a jar sold by any supermarket.

3. Indian style roast Chicken: This one requires from the scratch effort.

Ingredients needed:

-2 or more Organic Chicken Breasts sliced in pieces (I like organic chicken because it soaks in the juices better and doesn’t go dry in the oven)

Throw in & rub the chicken with:

Cayenne Pepper

Mince Garlic (about 4 cloves)

Mince Ginger (similar portion to the garlic!)

India All Spice Mix (Garam Masala) about 1/4th teaspoon

Maple Syrup (to reduce the hotness of the spice and stop your tongue from burning)

and the final fun ingredient- Domino’s Red Hot Dipper sauce or Frank’s RedHot or just find some generic cayenne pepper sauce. Add as much as you can handle!

Don’t Forget The Salt

Lay the chicken on your baking dish, add a tiny bit of olive oil to make it greasy and let it bake until the chicken appears cooked. Juicy but done. Should take about 15-20 mins at 170 degrees.

Grab a plate, a round pastry cutter mold or some similar ring. Place the crunchy Swiss Rosti at the bottom, top it with the pickled red cabbage, remove the mold gently and place your chicken on top. Drizzle with chilli olive oil for extra kick and sea salt for extra crunch. Eat!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

