Hey Reader: Bake These Muffins Now! #chocolatebananasrum

When I see bananas lying around for too long, my first thought is- Lets bake some banana bread! But I hate banana bread, I like baking it for others but personally can’t stand more than 1 piece. So I decided to look online for a chocolate-banana muffin recipe and stumbled upon Nigella’s site. Surprisingly the recipe did not call for a whole block of butter as most of Nigella’s recipes so I decided to give it a go. I have improvised her recipe and as my friend Aimee The Plymouth Blogger puts it, I owned Nigella 😉

These are my improvised Double chocolate, rum, banana muffins with rum glaze.


chocolatebananamuffins
For muffins
3 ripe bananas
125 ml vegetable oil
2 large eggs
125 grams muscovado sugar
225 grams plain flour
3 tablespoons best-quality cocoa powder
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
Handful of chocolate chips
35 ml rum (I used the spicy Bacardi Oakheart)

For glaze
5 tablespoons icing sugar
15-20 ml rum

Mash the bananas. One by one, add oil, eggs, sugar, plain flour, cocoa, soda, chocolate chips and rum.

Bake for 15 mins at 200 degree celsius.

Once the muffins have cooled, drizzle the glaze. I made small cuts in the muffins to ensure that some of the glaze seeps inside the muffin too.

These muffins are very delicious, I don’t think they are as fattening as the other recipes I have baked in the past and more importantly…the rum smells and tastes so nice! As I have an open plan kitchen, even my sofa is drenched in the rummy fragrance.

For the original recipe, head to Nigella.com

Leave a Reply

